Short Constellation Guide

12 Signs of the Zodiac

Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

The Water-Carrier (Aquarius)

Aquarius (Latin for “water-carrier” or “jug-carrier”) is the eleventh zodiac constellation; it’s symbol represents a water stream. The constellation lies between the Horned Goat (in the west) and the Fish (in the east). The Water-Carrier is one of the oldest known zodiac constellations. It is found in a celestial region that if often referred to as the „sea,“ because “watery” constellations often appear there, e.g. Cetus (the Whale), Pisces (the Fish), Eridanus (The Eridanus River) etc.. Sometimes the Eridanus River (the Po River in Italy) is depicted as pouring out of the water jug of Aquarius.

From mythology – an interesting story that has been told for many centuries

As the Greek myth tells it, Zeus was taken in by the beauty of Ganymede, a young shepherd boy. Zeus transformed himself into an eagle, picked the boy up and bore him to the seat of the gods. Ganymede recognized the great need for water that existed on the Earth. He negotiated with Zeus to be allowed to help the people, and he obtained permission to let it rain. Finally, he was exalted as the Water-Carrier, Rain-God, and placed among the stars.

Finding the constellation in the sky

On both hemispheres, the constellation can be seen in latitudes between +65° and –90°, although viewing is best in October. The Water-Carrier is relatively easy to find;–it is situated between the southern star Fomalhaut (in the Southern Fish - Piscis Austrinus) and the large Sqaure of Pegasus in the north.

Kleiner Sternbild-Führer

Die 12 Tierkreiszeichen

Symbole der Tierkreiszeichen
Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

Der Wassermann (Aquarius)

Aquarius (lateinisch: “Wasserträger” oder “Kelchträger”) ist das elfte Tierkreiszeichen; sein Symbol repräsentiert einen Wasserstrom. Das Sternbild liegt zwischen dem Steinbock (im Westen) und den Fischen (im Osten). Der Wassermann ist eines der ältesten bekannten Tierkreissternbilder. Er befindet sich in einer Himmelsregion, die oft als “See” bezeichnet wird, da in ihr “wäßrige” Sternbilder gehäuft vorkommen, z. B. Cetus (Walfisch), Pisces (Fische), Eridanus (Fluß Eridanus) usw.. Manchmal wird der Fluß Eridanus so dargestellt, dass er vom Wasserkrug des Aquarius ausgeschüttet wird.

Aus der Mythologie – eine interessante Geschichte, die man sich schon seit vielen Jahrhunderten erzählt

Wie der griechische Mythos erzählt, bewunderte Zeus einst die Schönheit Ganymeds, eines Schäferjungen. Zeus verwandelte sich in einen Adler, griff den Jungen auf und trug ihn zur Heimstatt der Götter. Ganymed erkannte wie groß die Not nach Wasser auf Erden war. Er verhandelte mit Zeus um den Menschen helfen zu dürfen und erhielt die Erlaubnis, es regnen zu lassen. Schließlich wurde er als Wassermann, Gott des Regens, verherrlicht, und unter die Sterne versetzt.

So findest du das Sternbild am Himmel

Das Sternbild ist auf beiden Erdhalbkugeln in den Breiten zwischen +65° und –90° zu sehen, am besten im Monat Oktober. Der Wassermann kann ziemlich leicht zwischen dem im Süden stehenden Stern Fomalhaut im Südlichen Fisch (Piscis Austrinus) und dem großen Viereck des Pegasus im Norden gefunden werden.

Aquarius
Klicken Sie hier, um unsere Tracking-Codes zu deaktivieren.
Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.