Stones

Calcite

Calcite

Calcite 

Calcite, calcite, calcspar or double spar, is a very frequently occurring mineral from the mineral class of "carbonates and nitrates" with the chemical composition Ca[CO3] and thus chemically seen calcium carbonate.

Calcite crystallizes in the trigonal crystal system and develops different crystal or aggregate forms (habitus). In its pure form calcite is colourless and transparent. Due to multiple refraction of light due to lattice defects or polycrystalline formation, calcite can also appear white, with a corresponding decrease in transparency, and can take on a yellow, pink, red, blue, green, brown or black color through foreign admixtures.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calcite


Snake Stone

Snake Stone

Snake Stone

The serpentine group (Latin: serpens, Greek: Ophit, Serpentine) refers to a group in the monoclinic crystal system of crystallizing silicate minerals with the chemical composition (Mg,Fe,Ni)6Si4O10(OH)8. The metal atoms in brackets can represent each other in any mixture, but are always in the same ratio to the other atomic groups. Serpentine has a relatively low hardness of 2.5 to 4, a mostly olive green, but occasionally also yellow, brown, red, grey, black or white color and a white line color.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serpentine_subgroup


Gritstone (Sandstone)

Gritstone (Sandstone)

Gritstone (Sandstone)

Sandstone is a clastic sedimentary rock containing at least 50 % grains of sand, i.e. grains which, according to the general definition of sand grain size, are between 0,063 and 2 mm in size. The sand grains consist of various minerals, but mostly quartz.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandstone


Marble

Marble

Marble

Marble is a metamorphic rock composed of recrystallized carbonate minerals, most commonly calcite or dolomite. Marble is typically not foliated, although there are exceptions. In geology, the term "marble" refers to metamorphosed limestone, but its use in stonemasonry more broadly encompasses unmetamorphosed limestone. Marble is commonly used for sculpture and as a building material.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marble


Gesso

Gesso

Gesso

Gesso is a white paint mixture consisting of a binding agent with gypsum, chalk, pigment or a combination of these binding agents and describes the traditional priming on canvas. In art, the mixture is used as a base for paint and other materials for preparation on various surfaces such as wooden boards, canvases and sculptures.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gesso


Limestone

Limestone

Limestone (Grey rock)

Limestone is the name given to sedimentary rocks consisting mainly of the chemical substance calcium carbonate (CaCO3) in the form of the minerals calcite and aragonite.

Limestone is an extremely variable rock; this concerns its formation as well as its properties, appearance and economic usability. There is therefore a special field within geology, carbonate sedimentology, which deals exclusively with the formation and properties of the various types of limestone. Most limestones are of biogenic origin (formed by living organisms), but there are also chemically precipitated and clastic limestones.

Limestone is of enormous economic importance as a raw material for the construction industry and as a natural stone. Furthermore, such deposits are storage rocks for crude oil and natural gas.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Limestone


Phosphorite

Phosphorite

Phosphorite

Phosphorite is a marine sedimentary rock that occurs in layers with other marine rocks, mostly limestones.

The rock phosphorite is used as a raw material for the production of phosphorus, especially for fertilizer production and in the chemical industry. Known occurrences of phosphorite - partly in concretions - can be found on Nauru (almost exhausted), in Morocco, Florida, Tunisia, Estonia and Algeria.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phosphorite


Shale

Shale

Shale

Shale is a fine-grained, clastic sedimentary rock composed of mud that is a mix of flakes of clay minerals and tiny fragments (silt-sized particles) of other minerals, especially quartz and calcite. Shale is characterized by breaks along thin laminae or parallel layering or bedding less than one centimeter in thickness, called fissility. It is the most common sedimentary rock.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shale


Plant fossil

Plant fossil

Plant fossil

A fossil (Latin fossilis "excavated") is any testimony of past life in the history of the earth that is older than 10,000 years and can thus be assigned to a geological age before the beginning of the Holocene. Such geological documents can be physical remains of living beings (body fossils) as well as evidence of their activity (trace fossils).  For example, fossilized footprints and excrements (coproliths) are also counted as fossils. The formation of fossils is called fossilisation. The exploration of fossils is primarily carried out by palaeontology.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fossil


Pencil stone

Pencil stone

Pencil stone

Pencil stone (also known as soapstone) is a naturally occurring, massive or slate chemical substance which, depending on its composition, is considered a mineral or a rock. Its main component is talc; in its pure form it turns soapstone into a mineral. In many deposits, accompanying minerals are added and thus have a colouring and structure-forming effect.  In this case one speaks of a rock. Frequently occurring secondary components are magnesite, serpentine and various chlorites. There are transitional forms to talc slate, talc rock, green slate and chlorite slate.

Due to its low hardness (Mohs hardness = 1) and thus easy workability, soapstone was already a popular natural and cast stone in the Ancient Orient, Egypt, China and Scandinavia, which was predominantly used for seals, sculptures and various household objects such as containers and cookware.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soapstone


Granite

Granite

Granite

Granites (from Latin granum "Korn") are massive and relatively coarse crystalline magmatic deep rocks (Plutonites), which are rich in quartz and feldspars, but also contain dark (mafic) minerals, especially mica. The mnemonic "feldspar, quartz and mica, the three I will never forget" gives a simplified account of the composition of granite. Granite corresponds in its chemical and mineralogical composition to volcanic rhyolite. Granite is usually massive and can be divided into cuboid blocks by horizontal and vertical fissures (three-dimensional fissures). Granite in the roof area of the intrusion is more rarely flat.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Granite


Green Fluorite

Green Fluorite

Green Fluorite

Fluorite (also called fluorspar) is the mineral form of calcium fluoride, CaF2. It belongs to the halide minerals. It crystallizes in isometric cubic habit, although octahedral and more complex isometric forms are not uncommon.

Fluorite is a colorful mineral, both in visible and ultraviolet light, and the stone has ornamental and lapidary uses. Industrially, fluorite is used as a flux for smelting, and in the production of certain glasses and enamels. The purest grades of fluorite are a source of fluoride for hydrofluoric acid manufacture, which is the intermediate source of most fluorine-containing fine chemicals. Optically clear transparent fluorite lenses have low dispersion, so lenses made from it exhibit less chromatic aberration, making them valuable in microscopes and telescopes. Fluorite optics are also usable in the far-ultraviolet and mid-infrared ranges, where conventional glasses are too absorbent for use.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluorite


Quartz

Quartz

Quartz 

Quartz, also called deep quartz or ? quartz, is a mineral with the chemical composition SiO2 and trigonal symmetry. It is the stable form (modification) of silicon dioxide on the earth's surface and, after feldspars, the second most common mineral in the earth's crust. At a temperature of over 573 °C (under a pressure of 1 bar) deep quartz changes into high quartz by changing the crystal structure.

Quartz is one of the most important minerals in industry and is of worldwide importance both as a building material and as a raw material for the ceramics, glass and cement industries. Quartz gravel and broken quartz are raw materials for the production of silicon.

Some information in this copy may have been obtained from the online resource: Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia.

Learn more:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quartz

Click here to deactivate our tracking codes.
Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics.

Steine

Calcit

Calcit

Calcit

Calcit, Kalzit, Kalkspat oder Doppelspat, ist ein sehr häufig vorkommendes Mineral aus der Mineralklasse der „Carbonate und Nitrate“ mit der chemischen Zusammensetzung Ca[CO3] und damit chemisch gesehen Calciumcarbonat.

Calcit kristallisiert im trigonalen Kristallsystem und entwickelt verschiedene Kristall- beziehungsweise Aggregatformen (Habitus). In reiner Form ist Calcit farblos und durchsichtig. Durch vielfache Lichtbrechung aufgrund von Gitterbaufehlern oder polykristalliner Ausbildung kann er aber auch weiß erscheinen, wobei die Transparenz entsprechend abnimmt, und durch Fremdbeimengungen eine gelbe, rosa, rote, blaue, grüne, braune oder schwarze Farbe annehmen..

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen..

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calcit


Serpentingruppe

Serpentingruppe

Serpentingruppe

Die Serpentingruppe, (lat.: serpens, griech.: Ophit, Schlangenstein) bezeichnet eine Gruppe im monoklinen Kristallsystem kristallisierender Silikat-Minerale mit der chemischen Zusammensetzung (Mg,Fe,Ni)6Si4O10(OH)8. Die in Klammern stehenden Metallatome können sich in beliebiger Mischung vertreten, stehen aber immer im selben Verhältnis zu den anderen Atomgruppen. Serpentin hat eine verhältnismäßig niedrige Härte von 2,5 bis 4, eine meist olivgrüne, gelegentlich aber auch gelbe, braune, rote, graue, schwarze oder weiße Farbe und eine weiße Strichfarbe.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serpentingruppe


Sandstein

Sandstein

Sandstein

Sandstein ist ein klastisches Sedimentgestein mit einem Anteil von mindestens 50 % Sandkörnern, d. h. von Körnern, die nach der allgemeinen Definition der Korngröße Sand zwischen 0,063 und 2 mm groß sind. Die Sandkörner bestehen aus verschiedenen Mineralen, meistens jedoch aus Quarz.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandstein


Marmor

Marmor

Marmor

Marmor ist ein metamorphes Gestein, das aus rekristallisierten Carbonatmineralen, meist Calcit oder Dolomit, besteht. Marmor ist in der Regel nicht foliert, obwohl es Ausnahmen gibt. In der Geologie bezieht sich der Begriff "Marmor" auf metamorphosierten Kalkstein, aber seine Verwendung im Steinmetzgewerbe umfasst im weiteren Sinne auch nicht metamorphosierten Kalkstein. Marmor wird häufig für Skulpturen und als Baumaterial verwendet.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marmor


Gesso

Gesso

Gesso (Gips)

Gesso ist eine aus einem Bindemittel mit Gips, Kreide, Pigment oder einer Kombination aus diesen Bindemitteln bestehende weiße Farb-Mischung und bezeichnet die traditionelle Grundierung auf Leinwänden. In der Kunst wird die Mischung zur Vorbereitung auf verschiedenen Untergründen wie Holzplatten, Leinwänden und Skulpturen als Basis für Farben und andere Materialien verwendet.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gesso


Kalkstein

Kalkstein

Kalkstein

Als Kalkstein werden Sedimentgesteine bezeichnet, die überwiegend aus dem chemischen Stoff Calciumcarbonat (CaCO3) in Form der Mineralien Calcit und Aragonit bestehen.

Kalkstein ist ein äußerst variables Gestein; dies betrifft sowohl seine Entstehung als auch seine Eigenschaften, das Aussehen und die wirtschaftliche Verwendbarkeit. Es gibt daher innerhalb der Geologie eine eigene Fachrichtung, die Karbonatsedimentologie, die sich ausschließlich mit der Entstehung und den Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Kalksteintypen befasst. Die meisten Kalksteine sind biogener Herkunft (von Lebewesen gebildet), es gibt aber auch chemisch ausgefällte und klastische Kalksteine. Kalksteine besitzen eine enorme wirtschaftliche Bedeutung als Rohstoff für die Bauindustrie und als Naturwerkstein. Des Weiteren sind solche Lagerstätten Speichergestein für Erdöl und Erdgas.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalkstein


Phosphorit

Phosphorit

Phosphorit

Phosphorit ist ein marines Sedimentgestein, das schichtgebunden mit anderen marinen Gesteinen, meistens mit Kalken auftritt. Das Gestein Phosphorit wird als Ausgangsmaterial zur Herstellung von Phosphor, vor allem für die Düngemittelproduktion und in der chemischen Industrie genutzt. Bekannte Vorkommen von Phosphorit – zum Teil in Konkretionen – finden sich auf Nauru (nahezu erschöpft), in Marokko, Florida, Tunesien, Estland und Algerien.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phosphorit


Schiefer

Schiefer

Schiefer

Schiefer ist ein feinkörniges, klastisches Sedimentgestein aus Schlamm, das eine Mischung aus Schuppen von Tonmineralien und winzigen Fragmenten (schluffartigen Partikeln) anderer Mineralien, insbesondere Quarz und Kalzit, ist. Schiefer ist gekennzeichnet durch Brüche entlang dünner Schichten oder parallele Schichtung oder Lagerung von weniger als einem Zentimeter Dicke, die so genannte Spaltbarkeit. Es ist das häufigste Sedimentgestein.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schiefer


Fossil

Fossil

Fossil

Ein Fossil (lateinisch fossilis „ausgegraben“) ist jedes Zeugnis vergangenen Lebens der Erdgeschichte, das älter als 10.000 Jahre ist und sich somit einem geologischen Zeitalter vor dem Beginn des Holozäns zuordnen lässt. Derartige erdgeschichtliche Dokumente können sowohl körperliche Überreste von Lebewesen (Körperfossilien) sein als auch Zeugnisse ihrer Aktivität (Spurenfossilien). Zum Beispiel werden auch versteinerte Trittsiegel und Exkremente (Koprolithe) zu den Fossilien gezählt. Die Entstehung von Fossilien nennt man Fossilisation. Die Erforschung der Fossilien erfolgt in erster Linie durch die Paläontologie.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fossil


Speckstein

Speckstein

Speckstein

Speckstein (auch Seifenstein genannt) ist ein natürlich vorkommender, massig oder schiefrig auftretender chemischer Stoff, der je nach Zusammensetzung als Mineral oder als Gestein gilt. Sein Hauptbestandteil ist Talk; er macht den Speckstein in reiner Form zu einem Mineral. In vielen Lagerstätten treten begleitende Minerale hinzu und haben so eine farbgebende und strukturprägende Wirkung. In diesem Fall spricht man von einem Gestein. Häufig auftretende Sekundärbestandteile sind Magnesit, Serpentine und verschiedene Chlorite. Es gibt Übergangsformen zu Talkschiefer, Talkfels, Grünschiefer und Chloritschiefer

Speckstein war aufgrund seiner geringen Härte (Mohshärte = 1) und damit leichten Bearbeitbarkeit bereits im Alten Orient, Ägypten, China und Skandinavien ein beliebter Natur- und Werkstein, der überwiegend zu Siegeln, Skulpturen und verschiedenen Haushaltsgegenständen wie Behältern und Kochgeschirr verarbeitet wurde.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speckstein


Granit

Granit

Granit

Granite (von lat. granum „Korn“) sind massige und relativ grobkristalline magmatische Tiefengesteine (Plutonite), die reich an Quarz und Feldspaten sind, aber auch dunkle (mafische) Minerale, vor allem Glimmer, enthalten. Der Merkspruch „Feldspat, Quarz und Glimmer, die drei vergess ich nimmer“ gibt die Zusammensetzung von Granit vereinfacht wieder. Granit entspricht in seiner chemischen und mineralogischen Zusammensetzung dem vulkanischen Rhyolith. Granit tritt gewöhnlich massig auf und kann durch horizontal und vertikal verlaufende Klüfte (dreidimensionales Kluftnetz) in quaderförmige Blöcke zerlegt sein. Seltener ist Granit im Dachbereich der Intrusion plattig ausgebildet.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Granit


Grüner Fluorit

Grüner Fluorit

Grüner Fluorit

Fluorit, auch unter der bergmännischen Bezeichnung Flussspat oder seiner chemischen Bezeichnung Calciumfluorid bekannt, ist das Calciumsalz der Flusssäure und ein sehr häufig vorkommendes Mineral aus der Mineralklasse der einfachen Halogenide. Fluorit kristallisiert im kubischen Kristallsystem mit der chemischen Zusammensetzung CaF2 und entwickelt kubische Kristalle mit vorwiegend würfeliger oder seltener oktaedrischer Kristallform sowie Durchdringungszwillinge, aber auch körnige, massige Aggregate. Reiner Fluorit ist farblos und transparent, durch Verunreinigungen auch grau. Er kann jedoch durch Fremdbeimengungen fast alle Farben, zumeist in schwacher Intensität, annehmen. Verbreitet sind grüne, violette bis schwarzviolette und gelbe Kristalle („Honigspat“), aber auch blaue, rote und braune Fluorite werden gefunden. Ebenso kann häufig ein zonarer Farbwechsel beobachtet werden. Die Strichfarbe ist dagegen immer Weiß.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluorit


Quarz

Quarz

Quarz

Quarz, auch Tiefquarz oder ?-Quarz genannt, ist ein Mineral mit der chemischen Zusammensetzung SiO2 und trigonaler Symmetrie. Er ist die auf der Erdoberfläche stabile Form (Modifikation) des Siliciumdioxids und nach den Feldspaten das zweithäufigste Mineral der Erdkruste. Bei einer Temperatur von über 573 °C (unter einem Druck von 1 bar) geht Tiefquarz durch Änderung der Kristallstruktur in Hochquarz über.

In der Industrie ist Quarz eines der wichtigsten Minerale und hat gleichermaßen als Baustoff wie als Rohstoff für die Keramik-, Glas- und Zementindustrie weltweite Bedeutung. Quarzkies und gebrochener Quarz sind Rohstoff zur Gewinnung von Silicium.

Einige dieser Informationen wurden eventuell aus der Online-Quelle Wikipedia: Die freie Enzyklopädie entnommen.

Erfahre mehr: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarz

Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.