Short Constellation Guide

12 Signs of the Zodiac

Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

The Virgin (Virgo)

The Virgin is the second largest constellation and lies between the Lion (in the west) and the Scales (in the east). She is not easy to find, since most of her stars are weaker than magnitude 3, except for her brightest star, Spica (Alpha Virginis), which has a magnitude of 1. Virgo is also famous for her many hundreds of galaxies.

From mythology – an interesting story that has been told for many centuries

It is not known who exactly the Virgin is supposed to represent. Over the course of history, she has been associated with nearly every famous goddess, for instance with the Babylonian goddess Ishtar or with the Greek goddess of the harvest, Demeter. According to another interpretation, Virgo depicts Astraea, the maiden daughter of Zeus and the goddess Themis. Astraea was the Roman goddess of justice; she was assigned to this constellation because the Scale constellation – the scale of justice - is directly beside her. It was assumed that Astraea ruled the world in her wisdom, until humanity became so vulgar that the Virgin was repulsed and returned to the sky.

Finding the constellation in the sky

Virgo can be best viewed in middle northern latitudes during the month of May. If you look to the south, you can find the constellation by tracing an arc from the handle of the Big Dipper to the orange star Arcturus, and extending it further to reach the bright star Spica. Spica makes up the southern point of a triangle with Arcturus on the left and Regulus on the right side.

Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics.
Click here to deactivate our tracking codes.

Kleiner Sternbild-Führer

Die 12 Tierkreiszeichen

Symbole der Tierkreiszeichen
Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

Die Jungfrau (Virgo)

Die Jungfrau, das zweitgrößte Sternbild, steht zwischen dem Löwen (im Westen) und der Waage (im Osten). Sie ist nicht einfach zu finden, da die meisten ihrer Sterne schwächer als die 3. Größenklasse sind, ausgenommen ihr hellster Stern, Spica (Alpha Virginis), mit der Größenklasse 1. Virgo ist auch berühmt für ihre vielen Hundert Galaxien.

Aus der Mythologie – eine interessante Geschichte, die man sich schon seit vielen Jahrhunderten erzählt

Wen genau die Jungfrau darstellen soll, ist unbekannt. Im Laufe der Geschichte wurde sie mit beinahe jeder berühmten Göttin in Verbindung gebracht, so etwa mit der babylonischen Göttin Ischtar oder mit der griechischen Göttin der Getreideernte, Demeter. Nach einer anderen Interpretation stellt das Sternbild Astraea dar, die jungfräuliche Tochter des Gottes Zeus und der Göttin Themis. Astraea war die römische Göttin der Gerechtigkeit und wurde diesem Sternbild zugeordnet, weil gleich nebenan das Sternbild Waage liegt, die Waagschalen der Gerechtigkeit. Man nahm an, dass Astrea mit ihrer Weisheit die Welt regiert hat bis die Menschheit so verroht war, dass die Jungfrau davon angewidert an den Himmel zurückkehrte.

So findest du das Sternbild am Himmel

Virgo ist in mittleren nördlichen Breiten am besten während des Monats Mai zu beobachten. Wenn du nach Süden blickst, kannst du das Sternbild finden, indem du den Schwanzbogen des Großen Bären (amerikanisch: den Handstiel des “Big Dipper”) über den orangenen Stern Arcturus hinaus verlängerst und so den hellen Stern Spica erreichst. Er bildet die Südspitze eines Dreiecks mit Arcturus auf der linken und Regulus auf der rechten Seite.

Virgo
Klicken Sie hier, um unsere Tracking-Codes zu deaktivieren.
Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.