Short Constellation Guide

12 Signs of the Zodiac

Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

The Scorpion (Scorpio)

Scorpius lies between the Scale (in the west) and the Snake-Carrier (Ophiuchus) or the Archer (Sagittarius) (in the east). This most impressive constellation is comprised of many bright stars, the brightest of which is named Antares (magnitude 1). The Scorpion is one of the few constellations that actually looks similar to the thing for which it was named. Even someone who observes the sky only rarely and with little imagination can identify this constellation in the sky.

From mythology – an interesting story that has been told for many centuries

This constellation is believed to depict the tiny scorpion that the great hunter Orion killed. Because he had killed the scorpion, Orion bragged that he was the greatest hunter in the world. When Hera, Zeus’ wife, heard this, she was not happy about it, and she sent a poisonous scorpion to attack Orion. For days, Orion fought with the creature, and was finally stung to death. In remembrance of the event, Hera set the scorpion in the sky. You will notice that the scorpion follows Orion constantly around the sky, as the scorpion rises as Orion is sinking.

Finding the constellation in the sky

The Scorpion can always be seen in the summer in the northern hemisphere if you look to the horizon in the south. Still, the best time to see it is from the southern hemisphere in July, when it passes over high in the sky. Its brightest star, Antares, is flanked by a star on either side. By connecting Antares with Arcturus in the Herdsman (Boötes) and Spica in the Virgin (Virgo), a large triangle is formed.

Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics.
Click here to deactivate our tracking codes.

Kleiner Sternbild-Führer

Die 12 Tierkreiszeichen

Symbole der Tierkreiszeichen
Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

Der Skorpion (Scorpius)

Scorpius liegt zwischen der Waage (im Westen) und dem Schlangenträger (Ophiuchus) bzw. dem Schützen (im Osten). Das eindrucksvolle Sternbild umfasst viele helle Sterne, der hellste von ihnen wird Antares genannt (Größenklasse 1). Der Skorpion ist eines der wenigen Sternbilder, das tatsächlich dem ähnlich sieht, nach dem es benannt worden ist. Sogar jemand, der nur selten die Sterne beobachtet und wenig Fantasie besitzt, kann dieses Sternbild am Himmel herausfinden.

Aus der Mythologie – eine interessante Geschichte, die man sich schon seit vielen Jahrhunderten erzählt

Dieses Sternbild hielt man für den winzigen Skorpion, der Orion, den großen Jäger, tötete. Orion hatte damit geprahlt, der größte Jäger der Welt zu sein. Als Hera, die Frau des Zeus, das hörte, war sie nicht erfreut darüber und schickte einen giftigen Skorpion los, um ihn anzugreifen. Orion kämpfte einige Tage mit der Kreatur und wurde schließlich zu Tode gestochen. Hera versetzte zum Andenken an das Ereignis den Skorpion an den Himmel. Du wirst bemerken, dass der Skorpion Orion unablässig über den Himmel verfolgt, denn er geht gerade auf, wenn Orion im Begriff ist, unterzugehen.

So findest du das Sternbild am Himmel

Der Skorpion kann im Sommer von der nördlichen Hemisphäre aus gesehen werden, wenn man horizontnah nach Süden blickt. Am besten aber sieht man ihn im Juli von der südlichen Hemisphäre aus, während er hoch am Himmel vorbeizieht. Sein hellster Stern Antares wird von je einem Stern an den Seiten flankiert. Durch die Verbindung von Arcturus im Rinderhirten (Bootes), Spica in der Jungfrau (Virgo) und Antares wird ein großes Dreieck gebildet.

Scorpius
Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.
Klicken Sie hier, um unsere Tracking-Codes zu deaktivieren.