Short Constellation Guide

12 Signs of the Zodiac

Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagitarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

The Archer (Sagittarius)

The Archer is generally thought of as a centaur (a creature that is half man, half beast) drawing a bow. It lies between the Snake-Carrier (Ophiuchus) and Scorpion (in the west) and the Horned Goat (in the east). A few of the brightest stars in the constellation are arranged in an easily recognized form, referred to as “tea cup”. The center of our galaxy, the Milky Way, lies in Sagittarius, which is dotted with dense star clusters and nebulae.

From mythology – an interesting story that has been told for many centuries

In ancient Greece, Chiron was seen as king of the centaurs - the most friendly and wise among them. He was the teacher of Hercules, the great hunter. Chiron had also given order to the stars in the constellation in the way we see them today. On one of this voyages, Hercules had the opportunity to help out Pholus, Chiron‘s son, who was in danger. Chiron was very grateful to Hercules for his help, and so he placed a centaur in the Sagittarius constellation; this centaur was a great archer, and he guarded over Hercules from the sky and helped protect him from the scorpion.

Finding the constellation in the sky

The Archer can best be viewed at 9 o‘clock pm during the month of August. As an observer in the northern hemisphere, you will look south near the horizon in order to find the heart of the scorpion, the brilliantly red Antares. Left of this, you will find some bright stars that make up the Archer constellation.

Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics.
Click here to deactivate our tracking codes.

Kleiner Sternbild-Führer

Die 12 Tierkreiszeichen

Symbole der Tierkreiszeichen
Sternbilder Aries Pisces Aquarius Capricorn Sagittarius Scorpio Libra Virgo Leo Cancer Gemini Taurus

Der Schütze (Sagittarius)

Der Schütze wird gewöhnlich als Zentaur (ein Wesen, halb Mensch, halb Pferd), der einen Bogen spannt, dargestellt. Er liegt zwischen dem Schlangenträger (Ophiuchus) und Skorpion (im Westen) und dem Steinbock (im Osten). Einige hellere Sterne des Sternbildes formen ein leicht zu erkennendes Muster, das “Teetasse” genannt wird. Im Schützen liegt auch das Zentrum unserer Milchstraße, das mit dichten Sternhaufen und Nebeln bevölkert ist.

Aus der Mythologie – eine interessante Geschichte, die man sich schon seit vielen Jahrhunderten erzählt

Bei den alten Griechen galt Chiron als der freundlichste, weiseste und als König der Zentauren. Er war der Lehrer des Herkules, des großen Jägers. Chiron hatte auch die Sterne des Sternbildes in der Weise angeordnet wie wir sie heute sehen. Auf einer seiner Reisen hatte Herkules die Gelegenheit Pholus, dem Sohn des Chiron, in einer Gefahr zu helfen. Chiron war Herkules dafür sehr dankbar, und so platzierte er in das Sternbild Schütze einen Zentauren, der ein großer Bogenschütze war, um Herkules zu bewachen und vor dem Skorpion zu beschützen.

So findest du das Sternbild am Himmel

Der Schütze hat seine beste Sichtbarkeit um 21.00 Uhr während des Monats August. Als Beobachter auf der nördlichen Halbkugel der Erde schaust du horizontnah nach Süden, um das Herz des Skorpions, den strahlend roten Antares, aufzusuchen. Links davon findest du einige hellere Sterne, die das Sternbild Schütze darstellen.

Sagittarius
Klicken Sie hier, um unsere Tracking-Codes zu deaktivieren.
Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.